Picture
You may think these stores are all glorious and have great clothing but what I found out about the popular brand name "Abercrombie and Fitch" was shocking .... Apparently they don't sell a woman's size over large because they believe that any heaver women are not attractive and that if they wore their brand it would give them bad advertising . But they sell extra extra large to men apparently that's all fine ....... I honestly have worn their clothing and love it but I wish they focused a bit less on their reputation and more on the people . Like what are they going to do "no you cannot buy my shirt you are unattractive" well guess what that's a bad move considering you are making less profit . And what also surprised me is if you apply for a job there you have to fit certain conditions or else they won't hire you based on looks . Like really if a normal looking person worked there would it really be that bad ? I understand the age limit for the clothing but look wise ?
Kira
5/9/2013 01:19:18 pm

I heard about this on the news yesterday! It's appalling, isn't it? Two years ago my English class did a study on A&F about who they hired as workers and models as well as the issue of "lookism". They only hired "beautiful people" and the majority of the models they used were blond and caucasian. They claimed that it was because that was their style. But how can you have a style of person? It's just wrong to me.

You're right, they should focus a lot less on their reputation and more on the people. I personally think that so many people are beautiful, not just the stereotypical californian american like they portray in their advertisements. There are a lot of girls larger than A&F's "large" that are absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Not to mention, the majority of Canada and the States are not super thin, fit, white models. There are people of all shapes and sizes, and especially in Canada we have such an amazingly diverse cultural group. And that should be okay! A&F should embrace it and serve everyone, they'd definitely make more money that way!

I love how you voiced your opinion on this, awesome blog!

Reply



Leave a Reply.